Notion template for coding practice

Notion template for coding practice

Template to keep track Template to keep track of your coding journeyof your coding journey

·

4 min read

I have been learning data structures and algorithm since this May, and the best way to learn it is by practising as much problems as you can.

As I practised, I realised the necessity of keeping a journal of the coding problems that I have already practised. I couldn't find a notion template for the same so I created one. It has helped me a lot. Therefore, I am sharing it with you. I hope it helps!

This is the template: Coding Question's Journal

Why do I even need this template?

  1. To track your progress
    • How many questions have you done so far, or in a day?
    • What are the new algorithms or concepts you have learnt?
  2. To keep all the practised questions at a same place.
  3. It will help you in organising your learning.
  4. You can always see what questions or concepts need to be practised again.

How to make this template yours?

  • Just click the duplicate button present on the top right corner of your page, as shown. imageedit_8_9651595402.webp

Quick walk through

  1. This will be your home page. You can directly start editing from there only, after duplicating it.

    Screenshot from 2022-06-07 14-46-52.png

  2. You can also hover over the Questions and click on the three dots (as shown) to view the database, or simply click on the Questions. It will then take you to the Questions page. You can also edit from there.

    ss_quesdb.png

    Screenshot from 2022-06-07 15-04-37.png

What does each column stores?

Some column names are self-explanatory, so I will just tell you about the oddly named ones.

  1. Done: If you are completely done with the problem then simple tick this checkbox. This will help you in keeping track of the problems that are never to be looked back again.

  2. My expertise: This column tells me my comfort level of that question. Did I find it easy, medium, or difficult?

  3. Alternative Method tags: Some questions can be solved using other data structures(that I haven't studied yet), and with less time complexity. This column is there so that I can do this questions again after learning that data structure, method, or concept.

  4. My solution file(if any): In this I can store my code screenshot or code file.

  5. Insight: This is the column where I save concepts, mathematical formula, algorithm name, new findings etc. This way you can solve questions based on an algorithm.

  6. Reading List: You can store an article link, twitter thread, or literally anything that will help you solve the problem in case you need it.

  7. Spaced repetition: If you want to revise a problem again and again but spaced time interval then this column will let you do so. Just enter the start or end date; or just the start date. It can also remind you, if you want, that you have to revise that again.

  8. No. of times practised: If you are done with the problem then no need to update it. Just put '-1'. In case you are performing spaced repetition then you can keep track of the no. of times you practised it.

Create Views

It's a really powerful tool that will help you in filtering. This way you can only see the data that you want. Don't know how to create views? watch this video

I have created three views. One of the three views is BS Hard Problems. In this view that I created I can only see the binary search problems having difficulty level 'hard'.

Screenshot from 2022-06-07 16-00-56.png

Customise your page

  • You can customise this page but only after duplicating it.
  • Make changes according to your own needs.
  • You can customise your page by

    • Adding more views to the table. For example, create a view in which you have all array problems that are hard,or create a view in which the array problems that you have solved can be solved by using hash maps or sets too.

    • Deleting unnecessary columns like your solution link, my solution file, etc.

    • Adding new columns like Company tag in which you can store name of the company which asked a particular question. Make it a multi-select so that you can add more than one company name.

That's all I have to share. I hope this Coding Question's Journal Template will help you.

If you have any suggestion please feel free to comment.

Have a nice day(or night :P).